1. Lmc71775

Lmc71775 Active Member

Forcing Myself to Write

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Lmc71775, Jan 8, 2010.

I am a manic depressive writer so you can imagine my ups and downs. I am on disability from my mental illness and haven’t been working (a real job) for about two years now.

Since I’ve been out of work I started plugging away religiously on my freelance writing (short stories and a novella). So far I’ve gotten a few acceptances, o.k. big deal. But lately I feel now since I have a few under my belt I need to produce more and more and more…and well you get it.

Usually I write 2 to 3 stories a week, work on them for a few days revising, then send them out for submission.

But my problem is lately I have been feeling burnt out from writing itself. And reading for that matter. Ok, ok…yes I have a life…kids (teenage) and yes I am one of those desperate housewives looking for an escape. I escape in my writing.

Anyways, I try so many things to keep my juices flowing, I get manic even. Then I plummet down into a drought of depression with NO movitation.

How do I keep a healthy balance? I’ve tried to schedule myself, but when I do my writing feels forced. Any ideas as to how to change this?

2. NaCl

NaCl Contributor Contributor

This is not a writing issue. It is a mental health management problem. You should consult your doctor for assistance with balancing your medication and other support services better. Then, when your manic depression is managed well, you can plug in your writing schedule wherever in fits best.

3. Ragnar

Ragnar Member

When you say forcing yourself, do you mean that you have to force yourself to begin a "session" of writing(something I myself have to do) or is the whole process forced? At least to me when the whole process of writing is forced? For example when you absolutely have to write something due to work or studies, or when I'm just not "in the mood" to write it doesn't really help calm/improve my mood.