1. Kasper

Kasper New Member

Do You Have To Be An Expert?

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by Kasper, Mar 11, 2015.

I apologize if this isn't the correct place for this question. If not, please advise and I will move.

Question: Do you have to be an "expert" to submit certain types of writing? For example, I am quite knowledgeable in problem behaviors in children. Could I submit work to child/parent magazines if I felt my work was a good fit?

For example, if I wrote a piece on problem behaviors in preschoolers, could I send it to relatable magazines? Or do I need certain credentials? I have a Bachelor's in Psychology but that certainly makes me no expert.

Does this make sense? I'm sorry if the answer seems obvious but I've never submitted anything and therefore don't know what is acceptable. Any insight/direction is greatly appreciated.

2. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

You can submit anything you like to anywhere you like. Getting it accepted is the trick!

A B.Sc. in psychology is, I would imagine, under-qualified for a magazine to accept you as an expert whom they would like to be associated with by publishing your work. Bear in mind that if your article advocates, say, slapping your child as being a good thing, their publication would be, tacitly, agreeing with that. So they need to be convinced that you won't be saying anything that they'd feel uncomfortable about - either that, or they'd have to edit your piece so hard they might as well have had it written by a staff member!

Rather than writing the article and then hawking it around magazines, I'd suggest hawking the idea around first, to see whether they'd even be interested in an unknown author's work, and to see whether they'd have any editorial guidelines that you should be following in your writing.

3. Kasper

Kasper New Member

@Shadowfax
    Holy Cheezits! No slapping, here. Lol
    Thank you for the suggestion. That makes more sense.