1. MrsT88

MrsT88 Member

Any knowledge on comas'?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by MrsT88, Jun 16, 2013.

I was inspired by one of you clever people to have a male character in my story that comes into the pub that it is set in. His wife is in a coma and he comes into the pub as an escape from what is going on in his life. I have no knowledge whatsoever on comas' and have tried to use Google to get an understanding of it and try and develop this idea but I'm more confused now than I was before! She has been in a coma for a couple of months and will be for a few more yet but why and how? Has anyone had an experience, know somebody that has or even just have a little knowledge on the subject and be able to enlighten me a little?

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

I thought that said commas. :p

I know a lot about comas, I used to work in critical care. Are you looking for the cause of long term comas with reversible outcomes?

And does this guy care for her at home or are you talking about she's in the hospital still?

3. erebh

erebh Banned Contributor

She could be in a coma for a squillion different reasons. Car crash, attack, near drowning, her coma could be induced by the doctor for a multitude of reasons.

What exactly do you want to know? There are some medics here way more able to help than I, be specific :)

4. raven6625

raven6625 Member

Yea, same here!

Maybe try to whittle some ideas out of the emotions you want to write about?

Say you want to write about his emotions regarding the cause of the coma:

Guilt- The cause could be the mans fault. (1) A car crash because he'd phoned her when she was driving (2) fell down the stairs after he hit her.
    Anger- The cause is another mans fault. (1) A car crash because the other driver was drinking (2) The doctors didn't diagnose a stroke in time because they thought she was on drugs.