1. Bagabon

Bagabon Banned

Novel Musical scores in a novel

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Bagabon, Jul 30, 2012.

I am currently working on a fantasy novel, and there is a character in it who is a musician. I was wondering if it would be a bad idea to include a small musical score with the lyrics above it in the novel when the music is being performed or sang? It'd be a simple score with just the melody itself, chords below.
    I am a musician myself and have written melodies for the book, and I know most of the readers wouldn't take the time to actually play the melodies to hear what they sounded like, but I guess I wrote these specific melodies to go with the songs in the book and would like it to be possible for them to be heard if the reader really desired. Would this be odd?
    I also considered having a section of the book where the character shows her sheet music to another, and it could be shown there rather than during the scene in which she plays the music... Any thoughts? Has this been done before?

2. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

I think this sounds awesome - would love to see a book like that and it sounds pretty unique. However, as with everything, I think - assuming a publisher takes your novel - it's up to the publisher whether the scores would be included. They have the final say, not you, I'm afraid, and they might, they might not. If they decide not to, then you'll have to be brave enough to turn down offers until you find a publisher who would allow you to print the scores with the book :)

3. Thumpalumpacus

Thumpalumpacus Alive in the Superunknown

I would gather all music into an appendix, myself.

4. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor