1. Some_Bloke

Some_Bloke Active Member

Relationship: Funny or Complex?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Some_Bloke, Nov 11, 2014.

I'm not very good at writing romance, let alone romantic stories (yet for some reason there are several relationships in my novel).

As it's a science fiction story with aliens, cyborgs and AI you have a large handful of complicated relationships so next to describing ships, weapons, armour (ect) doing a romance is the hardest thing.

There's only really one romance that gets a lot of focus. I have one of the characters fully developed already. He's a human with mental health problems due to an error in his cryo-stasis pod (he was partially concious for some of the trip), is pretty highly trained due to the ship's AI trying to keep him sane (ran various programs through his mind) and is obsessed with pre-war literature, movies (ect) due to further attempts by the AI to keep him sane.

Due to mental health issues he was rejected from the navy and so took on a job as a scavenger, a bounty hunter and eventually became a space pirate.

He's the kind of character who's damaged and so uses a shell, one of a humour to hide his fragile self. The idea of shells is kind of a theme throughout the novel, with multiple characters having their own to hide behind.

The other character is still a work in progress, mostly due to her species and the fact that this is the first story she's been in (different versions of Gregory have appeared in short stories before) At the moment (as my characters' backstories change as they develop) she's a convicted criminal on her own planet and so is hiding out in other parts of the galaxy. I'd describe her as extremely intelligent, adventurous, curious and at times she can be quite humorous. Like Gregory, she also has a fragile side she's hiding under a shell. Her shell consists of both humour and knowledge.