1. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

What scares you?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Lea`Brooks, Jul 8, 2013.

Or more accurately, what gives you the creeps?

I'm writing this short story (I want to write novels for a living, really, but short stories seems like the best way to get my name out there) and it's supposed to be kind of creepy. The main character, Merisol Delaney (tentative), is in her early to mid twenties and married. The story takes place on a street in the middle of a small city, where Christmas shopping is popular. I don't mean toys and clothing and electronics, though. I mean fudge shops, Christmas decorations, wrapping paper and bags, and small knick-knacks. It's Christmas Eve, and Meris decided to do some last minute gift shopping. I haven't hashed out all the details yet. I really just wanted to wing it and let it all come together. But I do know how I want it to end and I hope it'll come off as unexpected, but who knows, right?

Anyway. The whole story needs to be a little creepy. For example, the clouds are so thick they blot out the moon and the stars. On the strip, it's light and warm and happy. But further out, the city is shrouded in fog so thick, you can't see ten feet in front of you. I planned on having the people on the street be overly friendly and fake -- the kind of smiles that give you chills and eyes that are hollow and void of emotion. Etc., etc...

So what creeps you out? :) Not ghosts and demons, but situations and whatnot. I hope this makes sense. lol

Thanks!
    Lea

2. Darkjester79

Darkjester79 Member