1. samdero

samdero New Member

Advice: too cliche?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by samdero, Jul 31, 2015.

So, this is my first time posting on this forum. And I'd really like some advice.
    Since I was in a young teenager, I've had this idea for a modern supernatural mystery novel. Its one of the few stories I've been able to stick to. My worry is that it is just much too cliche. The essential idea of the story is a stereotypical rich socialite girl who becomes cursed with werewolf-ism and has her world turned upside-down. Since there's Twilight, and Teen Wolf and so many more, I worry the idea is too worn out for anyone to take interest.
    The story continues with her coping with her curse with the help of a secret pack hiding within her community while trying to find the cult that turned her and stop them. I also have ideas to make this into a multiple book series. I really love this story, actually. Its evolved so much since the first idea and I just can't move away from it.
    Please, no bashing? I've only recently become comfortable sharing my writing with people...

2. General Daedalus

General Daedalus Banned

First off, there's nothing wrong with being cliché. I'm the biggest cliché going. I recently found that my inhibitions are so high when it comes to writing that I have to go through sporadic bouts of alcoholism to actually write anything worth sending to my agent. I also wear sunglasses indoors.

Secondly, I really don't know anything about werewolves, vampires, or... other beasty-type-things. I've never seen Twilight, Teen Wolf, or anything else along those lines. But there is an enormous audience for that type of thing. I'd recommend that you just go with it, and write it.