Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. msmith

msmith New Member

I love writing but others don't love my writing

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by msmith, Dec 4, 2013.

Hello! I am a writer with a BA in literature. I am a 30 year old man and I have wanted to be a writer since I was 12, and I do consider myself to be a writer in a vocational sense. I care very much about writing but my work is never going to be suitable for a wide commercial readership. It just isn't the kind of thing that is published in journals or periodicals. Actually, people hate my writing - it makes them feel uncomfortable and dissatisfied, they demand explanations for why it is the way that it is, and they urge me to change my experimentation with style to conform to more regular usage conventions, regardless of whether I believe style has its own meanings that contribute to what I am doing or not. I have many reasons for why I write the way that I do, that are both artistic and intellectual, and I believe I'm doing the right thing for my writing by composing it in a way that is not necessarily publication-friendly, but sometimes I get down and blue that the industry will never take up my work. In a way I guess it makes me a sort of hobbyist, and I admit that I always expect to be involved in other employment to pay the bills. I guess I would describe my feelings as mostly anger. But that's irrational, I don't want to feel angry - I just want to be content doing what I have decided is right for my own writing. Do other people ever struggle with a feeling of maintaining a sense of dignity and value for themselves, while making writing that is more or less unpublishable?

2. T.Trian

T.Trian Overly Pompous Bastard Supporter Contributor