1. Chef Dave

Chef Dave New Member

Hello All ... Chef Dave Here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chef Dave, Aug 1, 2008.

Hello All!

I'm Chef Dave and yes, I am a real chef. I've been a breakfast chef, a fine dining chef, and a personal chef. I've also worked just about every position in a restaurant from bus boy to manager. Having tired of the long hours, the relatively low pay (especially for those of us who were under contract since we weren't eligible for overtime), having to work weekends, holidays, and evenings, I left the restaurants and am now working as a high school culinary arts instructor.

I didn't need a teaching degree ... although I do have one as I was an elementary teacher for 17 years before I got a culinary arts degree and entered the food service industry.

I used my restaurant experience to lever a Career and Technical Education (CTE) teaching certificate. In addition to teaching culinary arts, I supervise a student operated restaurant.

In my spare time, I work at a local food bank where I train volunteers in how to receive, inspect, date, label, and store incoming shipments of food. I run a demo kitchen to teach people how to use the meat and produce we give away. I also prepare frozen meal entrees for people in need of "emergency meal" packages.

I came to this site because I'm an aspiring writer. I've been working on a fantasy now for nearly eight years. The fantasy is set in ancient China and has undergone two complete rewrites.

One of the hardest lessons I had to learn as a novice writer was that time and effort do not necessarily mean that all of my words are golden. My initial draft was overly descriptive. One friend told me that it read like a travel monologue. Given all the time I had spent crafting this, I tried to tweak it. It took me a year to realize that there's some truth to the old adage, you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.