1. Destin

Destin New Member

Hmmmm....

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Destin, Feb 9, 2009.

Hi there, my name is Destin and I've been trying for ages to churn out some literature. Since I was just a youngun I've been an avid reader and writer, and I'm hoping to pick up some inspiration and hopefully motivation on this site!

I think posting my own work should not be among the very first things I do here. It is worth taking the time to see what other people have done to improve their writing, and see if some of it applies to my writing as well. That is part of why you require members to review other members' work before posting their own for review. On the other hand, there are no restrictions, other than content and copyright rules, on showcasing my work in my member blog.

If I haven't explored the site yet, I should probably do so soon. Newcomers often gravitate to the Lounge, the Word Games, or the Review Room, but there is much more to be discovered if I poke in the corners. I will remember to check out your FAQ as well, and be sure to read through the forum rules, too, to avoid any misunderstandings or hurt feelings. Respect for one another is our principal mandate.

As for the Review Room, I may wonder why you do things a bit differently on this site than on other writing sites. You emphasize reviewing as a critical writing skill. Training my eye by reviewing other people's work helps me improve my own writing even before I present it for others to see. Therefore, you ask me to review other people's writing before posting work of my own. The Review Room forums on this site, therefore, are true workshops, not just a bulletin board for displaying my work (and on that note, I will only post each item for review in one Review Room forum). I'm going to have a look at this post, Why Write Reviews Before Posting My Work? for more information.