1. Baka_Alchemist

Baka_Alchemist New Member

こんにちは! (Hello!)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Baka_Alchemist, Dec 20, 2014.

Hello everyone,

If you can't tell, I'm learning how to speak Japanese. However, if you know what baka means, you know I'll probably never surpass a very remedial understanding of the language. I can't help how impossibly confusing kanji is.

Anyways, like most of us, I am an aspiring author. I waver between determination to do it and a complete lack of faith in my writing abilities (I have violent mood swings and have always been and will remain hypercritical of myself).

I have been writing novels since I was 10 and have written 13 novels so far. Most of them are horrible, but what else can you expect from a ten-year-old novelist?

I read what I write (shocker), which is mainly Fantasy. I enjoy adult and young adult Historical Fiction, some Magical Realism, and most things Speculative Fiction. Obviously, I also read Manga.

As I said, I usually hate what I produce so feel free to rip apart anything I post on here. Whatever you say won't be worse than what I think. I'm here for advice, not coddling. I'm also happy to give advice, but, be warned, I might sound super critical/harsh.

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Hi, @Baka_Alchemist, and welcome to the forum! Please check out our New Member Quick Start Guide - it'll get you going around here. You'll find many of our members write fantasy, too, so you'll fit right in!

Participate and enjoy! :)

3. Gigi_GNR

Gigi_GNR Guys, come on. WAFFLE-O. Contributor

Welcome.

4. Shamgar81

Shamgar81 Member

Welcome to the family :)

5. Baka_Alchemist

Thanks everyone.

6. Rain Oxford

Rain Oxford New Member

始めまして。I'm excited to see another Japan fan here! Have you incorporated any of the Japanese culture or language into your books?

7. qp83

qp83 Member

こんばんは。

私は日本語が鳥渡わかります!