1. Richard H

Richard H New Member

Hi

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Richard H, Nov 12, 2010.

Hi all

I'm new here. I'm interested in writing theory. I'd like to do some creative writing too, maybe short stories, but never seem to get round to it, at least not properly.

I'm doing a PhD on 'discovery writing' at University of Exeter, UK. Here's my profile page:

http://eprofile.exeter.ac.uk/portfolio.php?uid=rjh216&section=1

Discovery writing is often defined by the so-called Forster quote, "How do I know what I think before I see what I say!" The idea being that some writers find out their story, characters, ideas (or whatever else) by writing. I've written essays like that, and assumed I was maybe doing something wrong, because lots of theory says that you should plan, plan, plan.

I've got some people's backs up a bit by suggesting that discovery writing can be kind of 'making it up as you go along'. I think it can be like that, but I know I do other things too, like lie awake in bed thinking about what I'm going to write, or I find myself rehearsing a sentence. In short, I imagine that we have lots of ways to prepare for writing. It's just that the actual writing is a big thing for me. Until I've written something, I feel I have nothing, empty, nada. Getting something down gives me a safe feeling, and then I can build from that, take risks, knowing I've got something safe in the bank.

Anyway, I'm rambling, as usual. Nice to be here! I'll go back to that thread 'How much do you plan!' That's very relevant to me. I'll have a look around too.

Bye

Richard

2. Torana

Torana Contributor Contributor

Hello and welcome to the forum. I hope that you have a great time here and look forward to seeing you around the boards.

3. Eunoia

Eunoia Contributor Contributor

Welcome. :)
    Studying Discovery Writing sounds interesting.

4. Trilby

Trilby Contributor Contributor

Hello and welcome

5. Cogito