1. Danny Michael

Danny Michael New Member

I seem to have lost my 'flair'

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Danny Michael, Dec 6, 2015.

First of all, this is my first post here, so hello! I hope that this is in the right place!

So, I am 23 now and I have ALWAYS loved writing. When I was a teenager I could sit at my computer hammering away at my keyboard for hours, producing some pretty great fantasy writing. I used to write a load of very short stories, purely for my own enjoyment (I never really showed anyone my creative writing before).

Anyway, the last few years I seem to have lost my creative writing skills. I am a small business owner and previously a freelance copywriter, mainly presenting factual articles as opposed to opinion pieces. I also wrote a number of football columns, which were opinion pieces, but as I'm sure you will understand, this hardly fueled my creative writing ability.

When I now sit down to write something "fun", or creative, I just can't. I seem to be devoid of ideas and can't seem to find that part of my imagination that the cool stories used to flow so freely from. I can write you a killer article or blog piece, but when it comes to writing a story now, I'm beat. It is hard to articulate, but I do get the odd idea or spark, but it tends to lead to a page or two and then fizzles out and falls to the side of the road, never to be seen again. I can't seem to come up with any story lines as I used to do, just the occasional idea that leads to a few nice paragraphs.

So my question is, has anyone here ever felt like this? How do I get that creative spark back, or is the imagination gone? What did you do to overcome this and are there any suggestions you could make as to how to build on my ideas and turn them into actual stories?

Thanks in advance!

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

What are you doing to feed your imagination?

Are you reading? Getting really immersed in a TV series or movie? Daydreaming?