1. GirlIsWrite

GirlIsWrite New Member

Hiya Newbie here, (a little advice needed) :-)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by GirlIsWrite, Jul 24, 2012.

Hiya everyone,

I'm new here, I'm looking forward to getting to know the forum a bit better, I've had a quick nose about, it looks fantastic.

I joined yesterday, mostly because I need a little bit of advice on how to overcome the hideous cloud of self doubt (I hope this is the right forum for this type of question?)

When I was 8 or 9 years old, I used to write short stories and create (and play out :D) several different characters. I gave it a rest for a while until I was 16, when I started writing a book, it was going pretty well, I would spend a couple of hours per night writing, but then suddenly gave up and through away my half finished story - I actually binned it!

I'm 25 years old now, and since then I have started a few different projects - but struggle greatly to get them off the ground!

At the moment I have got 2 ideas that I am 'working on' (a few paragraphs knocked out in microsoft word)

In my head, my ideas are characters seem to flow, when I'm doing housework or watching a movie - I'm constantly creating in my head, It's impossible for me not to, it makes me happy! It doesn't matter how bad things have got in my personal life, whenever I think of writing and my characters and stories - it's like an enormous relief for me, the thought of being able to tell stories and give my characters lives is beyond incredible, I need it! (I'm sure you know the feeling!)

There just one problem - it's like my 'flow' gets clogged up when I try to actually do the writing part! Somehow everything dies when I try to put in into a story or get it written down - I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing, and when I try to, I get frustrated with myself when everything I write down is complete crap! Just mind numbingly stupid boring crap!

I cannot find my 'voice'!