1. colorthemap

colorthemap New Member

Horrible writers

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by colorthemap, Mar 20, 2011.

Don't hate me for this post but I still want your opinions :)

But I recently read a post describing that most children who get published are simply brats who write fantasy rubbish.

So, onto the topic of my question do you consider all published works by young authors rubbish.

How about all first authors?

I think I am a decent writer, but I did a few years ago. I read what I wrote a few years ago and it has nothing. No flow, a "cookie cutter" plot and I even used terms that are used in a video game.

However since then I have more onto more sophisticated writing.

Any way what are your thoughts?

Hope my grammar was ok.

2. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

What exactly is the question?

3. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

One of my good friends finished her first 80K novel when she was twelve she is an amazing author so I don't hold that against someone. She is much better now she is eighteen of course.

4. colorthemap

colorthemap New Member

Sorry Drifted a bit, well a a lot.

Okay but do you think it is worth it for a young lad or lass to be published, on a general stand point.

5. Melzaar the Almighty

Melzaar the Almighty Contributor Contributor

I wrote crappy fantasy obviously written by a teenager when I was... a teenager. I knew I had the connections and stuff that if I'd worked hard I could have got it published, but as proud as I was about the novels piling around my ankles, I held off and waited.

I think if you can honestly recognise good and bad writing, and see you've leapt the hurdle between them, then you're probably a decent enough writer these days not to get accused of such a thing, so go for it.