1. Wolfo

Wolfo New Member

Manuscript format?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Wolfo, Jul 19, 2011.

Different websites have been saying different things, so I'm looking for the most widely accepted method. Other than proportional spaced fonts and double spacing, is there anything else to know?

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I believe the website Author! Author! by annemini. I have no personal knowledge to back up my belief, but she's convincing. And she offers manuscript formatting advice in excruciating detail.

Edited to add: Wait. Proportional spaced fonts? No, no, I'm just about positive that it's monospaced fonts.

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

By and large, this link to William Shunn's website is the one which publishers quote as an example of manuscript format. But you should make sure to check individual guidelines for any variation on this.

4. teacherayala

teacherayala New Member

I was always confused on how to take the page number/author information off of the first page. Mammamia was the one who finally could explain it to me so that I could understand. I needed exact directions. If you have a question about something, you could ask her.

5. teacherayala

teacherayala New Member

I used William Shunn's site as well because it was the clearest example. (I needed not just wordy descriptions, but I needed to see what it looked like on the page.) However, I couldn't find a clear direction on how to do the page number thing correctly, and I was putting it in the wrong place.

6. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

Chickenfreak is correct. Nonproportional fonts, like Courier 12 pt.

7. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

http://www.shunn.net/format/story.html

you'll see in this sample, how the header should be done... i.e., no header on first page and how it should be arranged beginning on page 2...