1. sprirj

sprirj Contributing Member

How creative is creative writing?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by sprirj, Dec 12, 2015.

Just recently I have been pondering this question; since I'm an artist, musician and storyteller, I was looking at the differences between them, and the one thing I've noticed is a lack of artistic licence in novels. Yes you can create worlds etc, but I think of all the artistic pursuits, it appears that it is the most structured. Art can be abstract and just drips and splats and seen as a masterpiece, music can be anything from bird song, to record samples stolen from other records, film can be silent or hours of someone sleeping. But books....
    Can these be abstract or not follow structures, can they break all the rules, not conform, and still be hailed as masterpieces? Is there a book out there without a storyline?

2. NeighborVoid

NeighborVoid Active Member

There's a reason many works share a similar structure : because it works.
    It's like that story about the emperor's new clothes. A great deal of time and money is spent hiring philosophers to say existential nonsense that the average person would not understand. As "art experts", their opinions are blindly accepted as objective truth.

3. BayView

BayView Contributing Member Contributor

"Novels" are only a subcategory of creative writing, though. There are subcategories of other artistic pursuits that have quite rigid expectations as well.

If you get into poetry, there's significantly more room for experimentation. And even in novels, there are those who experiment and try different forms.

The thing is - as with music or film, the more experimental stuff tends to not sell as well. You can make a movie that consists of someone just sleeping, but you're not going to sell a lot of tickets to it.