1. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

Does your story ever change so much...

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Lea`Brooks, Apr 30, 2015.

...that you write a second novel based on your original idea?

I have a high fantasy that I'm working on. But when I first started writing it, it was kind of a sci-fi, urban fantasy story, with "aliens" and a different planet. But I didn't have the skill then to really make it work, so I changed it to strictly an urban fantasy. But then after some time, it just made more sense to make it strictly fantasy.

But now that I've developed my skill as a writer, I really want to go back and rework the sci-fi/fantasy aspect. Maybe not as a novel, but a novella or short story would work.

Has this ever happened to anyone else? Do you avoid doing this? I know that sometimes the story grows for the better and going back to a plot that may or may not work could end in disaster.. But I feel I had something to tell with that story and am not quite ready to give up on it.

Anyone else? :p

Masked Mole likes this.
  2. Masked Mole

Masked Mole Senior Member

I have ideas that I feel like I majorly botched and might revisit. Oh, wait. I botched everything. Darn.
    I applaud you for your hunger to make everything the best it can be. A+

3. ToeKneeBlack

ToeKneeBlack Banned

I had to double the length of my story after realising the main antagonist, who was unmasked right at the very end, was defeated far too easily.

This encounter became the middle of the story, with the protagonists defeated but determined to return and finish what they'd started.

4. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor