1. xrosiekatex

xrosiekatex New Member

How do I create a mysterious, enigma, harbinger, spectral-type character?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by xrosiekatex, Apr 29, 2012.

Hi! I'm new to Writing Forums and I have a fairly difficult question to begin...
    My friends and I are writing a screenplay, it's a zombie apocalypse series-- but not in the excuse for blood and gore kind of way.
    So, we have an idea for a character who is mysterious... In the first two episodes he is not seen, but puts arrows through two zombies' heads, and in the second, rescues a girl from being killed. After that he disappears. In the third episode we want him to make a permanent appearance, and he's going to be a harbinger. He'll make hints at something bad which is going to happen, then we'll see him whisper what will happen to another character who will keep it secret. On the last episode what he told this character will come true, but something- and I don't know what, will lead us to wonder if this mysterious man was actually ever real... You know, like Inspector Goole in "Inspector Calls"?

So, I need help...
    a) finding a way to imply he was actually just an enigma.
    b) finding a way to explain how we all had a conversation with this man and saw him kill zombies when he was nothing more than a spectral being.

Any ideas?
    I need it to be clever, symbolical, exciting... Steer clear of cliches and "oh, it was all a dream!" type storylines!

Thank you, if any additional information is required, just ask!

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

As you would write any character. With experience that comes with practice, and with lots of reading to see how other writers have approached it.

Your question is far too general to be answered in a few posts. It goes to skill with dialogue, an understanding of character definition and evolution, and mastery of storytelling.