1. SprinkleSutton

SprinkleSutton Member

How do I find time to write?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by SprinkleSutton, Jun 7, 2010.

Help! Mother of one very messy little girl here, crammed into a small apartment with her, my husband and his best friend who sleeps on our couch. (Husband is also messy) My house looks like one of those hoarder shows, sink always full of dishes, stuff packed all around, just little pathways to walk through, and I clean houses for a living 5 days a week. (For shame!) I may need professional help, but I am hoping perhaps some suggestions from my peers could steer me in the right direction to help myself.

I am horrible at budgeting my time! I'm one of those writers that seldom finishes a story, I just keep getting idea after idea, so I have about 30 stories started. I sometimes finish them in my mind though, as far as character development and pivotal plot points, I just can't find the time to get them out of my head to share them with others.

Can you guys tell me your methods for budgeting typing time in to your busy schedules? I feel like I am squandering a God given gift by not devoting more time to my talent, I just don't know where to start! :(

Open to suggestions-

Sprinkle

2. Halcyon

Halcyon Contributing Member Contributor

Hi Sprinkle

I'd need to know your domestic situation in more detail to meaningfully answer this, but there is usually a way to work things out.

For example, when I wrote my first novel, which was several years ago now (it was self-published 4 years ago), I was working full-time Monday to Friday and had a wife and young son living with me. I tended to write for a couple of hours in the afternoon at weekends, and quite often had an empty quiet house to do it in.