1. amo a bulla

amo a bulla New Member

How Do I Kill My Main Character?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by amo a bulla, Mar 27, 2011.

Hello, I'm a relatively new writer, and I have a story that I'm very happy with, which I've been developing for a few years.

Every time I return to it, I know that the resolution needs to end with my main character's death. I know how I want him to die, but I'm not quite sure how to go about the technicalities of writing it.

The story is told in first person from the point of view of his closest friend (think Dr. Watson in The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes), and his friend is there at the time he is killed.

The worst part is that the manner of his death seems too anti-climactic. He basically gets shot. Now, there is a very intricate story behind his murder.

One of the toughest things I'm wondering about is: HOW LONG SHOULD I MAKE HIS DEATH SCENE BEFORE IT GETS CHEESY? I really don't want to have him do the whole "you're like my sister" thing with his friend, and I'd almost prefer that he says nothing, but would that be a disappointing end to the character for the reader?

Also, SHOULD I END THE SCENE WITH HIS DEATH, OR KEEP GOING? I have a sort of epilogue sequence prepared for after his death, but would a reader prefer my narrator to confront the murderer (who is known to her) right then and there? The murderer is supposed to be in a sort of hollow shock after he pulls the trigger. It just seems awkward that my MC's dead body is just...there.

2. Smoke

Smoke New Member

I'm wondering how she deals with her friend's death. Is she in shock as well? Is she confronting the killer in hot anger or disbelief?

Don't forget that getting shot doesn't often result in instant death.