1. kcasteel2004

kcasteel2004 New Member

How do I get people to read?

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by kcasteel2004, Jan 21, 2008.

I'm new to writing but know how to tell a good story. There is one thing I can't seem to get. How do you get someone to even read your story?

I have tryed forums, friends, teachers, my mother/father, and anyone I can trust but for some reason no one will even look at it. Is that anything you could suggest that may make people read?

Its not that the story is bad or getting critz its that they will not even open the story up and look. I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing wrong or if I'm missing a trick or something.

What do you do?

Thanks alot and hope you can help :)

2. lordofhats

lordofhats New Member

There really isn't much you can do in my opinion. You can't force people to read something. I know I often pass stories that are posted if I lose all interest in them in the first few sentences, or if its a massive wall of text.

WF.org has a rule where you have to give two reviews for every piece you post. That helps but often ends in one of those quick "oh I liked it it was good" comments that really does little to help.

There are things you can do to boost your chances of a actual review:

Don't post anything really long. Keep your posts short (Just a little bit of your story if its over 3000 words of course 3000 is the max word limit of a single post. I would go and say keep your submissions under 2000 words to boost chances) and you're likely to get a reviewer that goes through the whole piece. No one wants to sit down and read somethign that just keeps going and going on a forum. We buy books for that! Keep it short and your more likely to get a good review.

Make sure its properly formatted for the forum. The means there should be a line between the beginning and the end of each paragraph since indentation doesn't work (Anyone ever wonder why indentations don't work in online forums?).