1. LiterateStar

LiterateStar New Member

How do I start writing again? How do I stop judging myself.

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by LiterateStar, Aug 27, 2012.

Okay, I know I'm going to sound really lame. REALLY REALLY lame. But bare with me. Please?

I used to write a lot for fun. I learned how to read when I was two, and how to write when I was three. I loved it. I wrote some terrible poetry, but writing was a great outlet for me. I loved it, with every fiber of my being. Writing was my one true love.
    This love however, didn't last very long.
    I started to notice other writers and the way they wrote. I started to compare myself. I saw these wonderful writers with their eloquence with words and how I was just so....inadequate.
    My thoughts because so twisted and dark that I began to grow more and more frustrated as the days went on because I was realizing I was an awful writer.
    I could no longer finish anything anymore.
    And that is when my self esteem went down the drain.
    My motives were no longer to express myself but to impress myself.
    I get very emotional when writing now. If I do write, I'll get angry with how horrible I think it turned out or not bother completing it. If I'm writing on paper, I'll rip it up and throw away the paper.

I just wanted to know how to start writing again without judging myself?

2. idle

idle Active Member

Compare yourself to your previous self, not others. Try to write better than before. That's a reachable goal. Don't throw away all you've written, keep it as a milestone. The next one will be better.

If you can't seem to finish anything (I know that too), write something shorter. A short story. A short short story. A single scene, maybe. As short as you can complete.

3. Langadune

Langadune Member

I'm from the part of Kansas that doesn't look like