Tags:
  1. LImitSeeker

LImitSeeker New Member

Novel Need help....I am new in novel writing...

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by LImitSeeker, Mar 31, 2016.

Well....I always fond of stories.....in games, movies, and books. The visual novel Zero Escape and novel Percy Jackson series sparked my interest in writing. So I am now scratching a novel and kinda stuck. So here are my questions :

1. I am planning to create a deep backstories for the plot (like....World of Warcraft deep). Instead of info-dumping, I decided to write a little lore section in the end where others usually use it as glosarium. This back lore is to extend the story but not compulsory, but instead serve as method to clear questions. Important backstories does appear in novel, but won't be absurdly long. Is this good idea?
    2. Is it worth to check the Law of Physics? My genre is Fantasy, but I want to incorporate some science stuff, is it ok? I yes should reader know this? If yes how should I tell them, Lore or character's explanation?
    3. What do people hate from Fantasy genre? it can be anything from character to plot.I need to now so I can minimize the risk.

Any inputs and inspirations are welcome. Thank you for your time.

2. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

It sounds like your backstories might be more interesting to you that you're already planning on writing lots of it, to the point where you want to have a lore section. My question: Are you sure your novel isn't one of the supposed "back" stories? Eg. what you thought was a backstory is really the novel idea? You should start with what interests you - and it seems the lore is what interests you. No one would plan backstories the depth of WOW unless they were in love with these stories!

Seraph751, Simpson17866 and BayView like this.
  3. Sundowner

Sundowner Active Member