1. Cellardoor54

Cellardoor54 New Member

How do I write a thrilling "chase scene"?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Cellardoor54, Dec 28, 2012.

So the concept of my story I'm working on at the moment is along the likes I have never done before. It involves a very motivated FBI agent on the tracks of my main character who is an expert killer and second in command of a notorius gang. I want to write a very fast paced scene like ones you see in the movies, car chase (foot chase etc.) that would drag my characters through a small sector of my setting. Though I don't wish to over exaggerate it like Hollywood movies (I think it would go over the top.)

Perhaps people have more expertise in this area and knows how to pan a story around fast paced action and I have an understanding, but perhaps examples or a refrence would be of help.

Thanks!

2. hippocampus

hippocampus Active Member

I'm having a similar problem! I've been hunting around for my copy of one of the Bourne books (Legacy, Identity, Supremacy, Ultimatum, etc.).

3. Ian J.

Ian J. Active Member

There are plenty of books out there that have such scenes in them, so the oft quoted advice will mainly be to go and find some and read them. The Bourne books are probably as good a place as any to start.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I agree that chase scenes don't tend to have the same impact in a book as on screen. But it can be done. I'd recommend sticking to the main obstacles of the chase: dodging the taxi that shoots across the intersection, just missing an oblivious pedestrian whose attention is on his cell phone, having to take an alternate route because a bus stopped across your route. You can heighten the suspense by raising the stakes of losing your quarry. Similar considerations if your character is the one being pursued.

But keep it short. Don't try to maintain that pace over several pages.