1. Trung Mai

Trung Mai New Member

Novel How To Increase Word Output?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Trung Mai, Sep 4, 2012.

So I'm writing a novel. It's been something I've been doing on and off for a few years now. I only just recently began taking it seriously. I peaked at around 1200 words a day and now I float around 300-700. A friend of mine is doing a 30 day trial where he writes and exercises for the next 30 Days, always meeting a set quota. I recently read a blog where a woman managed to pull in 10k words a day. I've originally had a finish date of October 10 (my birthday) for my novel but I pushed it back to Christmas as I kept procrastinating. I am now convinced I can still pull off the October 10th. I am aiming for 100,000 words and I have 7000ish already done. How do you increase writing productivity? I am very intent on doing this and people trying to discourage me only makes me more determined.

2. NaughtyNick

NaughtyNick New Member

I just make time, normally 2 hours a night 4 nights a week and just write. Sometimes, if I am in the zone I write 3K a night. At other times I can barely construct a sentence. It's the nature of the beast. If you devote enough time to it, your story will unfold and your word count will increase. But don't get hung up on timelines and word counts. Your writing will suffer. Just let it happen.

3. J. Blake

J. Blake Member

Don't worry about people who try to discourage you writing. Believe me, chances are they don't have the imagination or the will to do what a writer can, and I'm glad that you've taken to using this as energy to push you forward. Anybody who tries to stop you from doing what you'd like to do are people you probably don't want to hang around, anyway.

There are plenty of ways to increase productivity, but none of them are easy.