1. PurpleCandle

PurpleCandle New Member

Novel How do you know you should try for a novel?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by PurpleCandle, Dec 9, 2010.

My last 2 short stories ended up being rather high on word and page count. And my last play went double than was required. Usually I can stay on word count...but lately I have been wanting to take my stories further

Now I have a new idea, that has bugged me for about three days. So this would be the time I would start getting ready with research, outlining, character development, determining the plot and so on...to see if I can pull it off

I just have this feeling that this project, like my last projects, is going to lead me to staggering page and word counts- too long for a short story.

I feel like novel writing is for the "big boys". So I am intimidated by thinking that I would go into the novel world. Compared to most people I am pretty new at this. I am fresh out of two college creative writing classes, so I must be too inexperienced to take on a project of this size.

Should I just hold off on the idea that is bugging me, and attempt some short stories or focus on my bad poetry?

How do you know if you are ready for a novel?

2. darthjim

darthjim New Member

You don't need to be an experienced writer, or even a "trained" writer, to produce a wonderful novel. If you want to do it, go for it; and don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

3. PurpleCandle

PurpleCandle New Member

Aww, thanks..I needed some confidence. :redface:

4. R-e-n-n-a-t

R-e-n-n-a-t New Member

My brother started writing when he was eight, and he's been turning out multiple pages a day, every day, ever since. He started out terrible, of course, but last he timed himself, he wrote thirty amazing pages in two hours.

(He's 16 now.)