1. mydayisgood

mydayisgood New Member

using others' characters

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by mydayisgood, Feb 27, 2012.

Hi all, I have a red-hot theme for a book that could easily be written as a sequel to a 20th Century Fox movie and thread it into an older book by a now-deceased author. Can anyone help me to plot a course for seeking permission to use characters from the movie and/or the book? This is my first attempt at writing more than poetry and songs, so a newbie I is, but hopefully not for long... Thanks in advance for any ideas.

2. Nakhti

Nakhti Banned

Plot a course? How about... come up with your own original characters to write about? Seriously.

I know you don't want to hear this, but big corporations like Fox must get people wanting to use their copyright property for books and film scripts all the time. But they have their own script writers for that sort of thing - people already on the payroll whose job it is to come up with movie scripts and teleplays for their existing franchises. A newbie stands less than a cat in hell's chance of getting permission, because it would just be too much of an expensive gamble. Securing the rights for another company (i.e. publishing house) to use their characters would cost an astronomical amount, and you've already got the odds stacked against your first book making any money, so no publishing house is going to touch this.

If your concept is really so astoundingly jaw-dropping, then pitch it to Fox directly. Still don't like your chances of success (just imagine how many people they must get trying to get their foot in the door with exactly the same idea) but it's less unlikely than trying to buy the rights.

If you are determined to write it, then call it a vanity project and publish it on a fanfiction website. use the experience as a learning exercise, and write something original next.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor