1. soxfan

soxfan New Member

How do you plan your stories?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by soxfan, Jul 19, 2010.

How do you plan your short stories, poems, and novels?
    I am a new writer and I would like some insight on planning stories. So go ahead and tell me how you go about planning what is going to happen in your story. I am all ears.

2. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

I don't really lol I tend to just write. Sometimes I write a list of events I would like to see in the book and in the order I want them to appear. And sometimes I just play about with paragraphs.

3. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

I make a vague outline of what my novel will be about. Nothing too detailed, just a general idea of setting, MC, main villain, beginning, middle, end, very general plotline. Then, I make a "scene checklist" or list of what events will occur in a chapter before I write the chapter. I leave the scene checklist on the word doc that I'm writing in. Basically, I keep my outline and writing in the same document together, then erase the outline portion of the stuff I've already written--especially since my "outlining" aside from the scene lists basically just consists of psychotic ramblings that make no sense to anyone else.

I find that formatting a plot is challenging at first, but becomes natural as the story kicks off on its own. Have a general idea of where it will go, so you don't write yourself into a brick wall. But don't force yourself to stay on a path. Subplots and character developments will arise on their own.

For short stories, I just write.

4. soxfan

soxfan New Member

Interesting...when I just write, I tend to hit a brick wall and have no clue where to go. I just starte outlining for a sort I am about to write and it is going well but it sort of gets annoying. I just wanna write!

5. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor