1. thabear637

thabear637 New Member

How do you save your novel?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by thabear637, May 11, 2009.

Just curious how everyone saves their novel, as far as keeping it organized. What I mean by this, is do you keep it as one document? split it up by chapters? How do you organize your novel while writing it?

Me personally what I've been doing is creating a new word document for each chapter. I figure it would be easier to swap the order of the chapters if I should feel the need to do that. It also keeps the word document smaller..which I know sometimes documents can freeze when it's rather large.

How do you do it?

2. democat

democat New Member

Well I'm a graphic designer so if word freezes my computer i have some serious issues to deal with.

The most I've written in a novel(la) is 40 thousand words (give or take) so i just go with one large file. Most likely a throw back to the file structure I use for digital illustration: I save in edits (edit01, 02 etc) I'm not sure how I'll go reorganizing chapters if it comes to that, but my chapters are not very long - the longest being 6 thousand words which I plan on dividing into a couple of chapters. When i zoom out to show the entire novel on one page it is quite clear where one starts and another ends so I will most likely chop and change it that way.

I don't think I could stomach multiple word documents I like having the whole thing in front of me so i can go backwards and forwards at my leisure. Simply searching for Chapter [no.] allows me to cut straight to were i want to go.

3. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

I keep it all as one file. I save it as Novel Title v. 1, Novel Title v. 2, etc.

When you submit your novel, you'll have to have it all as one file anyway.

You can cut and paste to move chapters or sections within a novel, if that is a concern.