1. Sal Boxford

Sal Boxford Senior Member

Caring a little too much?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Sal Boxford, Aug 30, 2016.

You can go ahead and file this under childish sulk but... the stories I get the most positive comments on (either here or from friends, fellow students, my tutor) seem to be ones that, yes, I've put work into, but that I've not really been that deeply invested in. I work on language and structure and telling the story, but the characters and the theme I don't really care about: I'm not really trying to say anything.

I'm hoping that because I'm fairly new to writing, eventually I'll be able to do whatever it is I'm doing right in these 'meh' stories in the stories I really love, but I wondered whether anyone else has noticed this in their own writing?

Are stories that (wankiness alert) come from the very core of you more difficult to write well?

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

My first novel is as close to I'll ever get (I think) at having a "baby" novel. You know, when people treat their MS like a baby? And yeah, it's definitely not as good as my others and the negative comments hurt a lot more... but I don't know if that's because it was my first, rather than because it was a baby. Probably a bit of both, but probably more because it was my first. I didn't know how to write a novel when I started, and I didn't know how to take feedback.

I have much more distance from my subsequent novels. I still care about the characters--I don't think I could write them well if I didn't--but it doesn't feel like a criticism of me when people don't like what I've written. I'm also much more able to evaluate feedback and decide whether it's "fair" or not, and I'm much more confident in accepting or rejecting feedback as appropriate. I think that distance is crucial in being able to produce a good book.