1. callum623

callum623 New Member

I know what I want to write but I don't know how to do it

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by callum623, Jul 16, 2015.

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting and I wanted some advice. I am 16 years old and have always wanted to write a book. However, I've never known what to write about or how to do it. But I think I have finally found my inspiration. After watching the TV show 'Skins' I have had an interest in teen drama/fiction and the way the show played out. Ever since I have wanted to write my own teen fiction book. Obviously I don't want to copy Skins but would like to use some of their ideas like a group of teenagers, school/college (or sixth form) and the things that go along with it. The only problem is I don't really know how to start or set it out. I've always liked coming up with characters and settings but I just don't know how the story should go. I'm not sure how on things like if it should be one main story line or something like several stories that all link together in some way. I'm also not sure how to introduce each character and develop each one. I'm sorry for the long post but any help would be appreciated. I would love to be able to do this but just need help getting started.

2. The Mad Regent

The Mad Regent Senior Member

Hi Callum,

I've never seen Skins so I can't really relate to that, but I can tell you that the first thing you should do is pick up a book and read, and while reading, observe and learn how that author formulates sentences, punctuation and grammar, how they create transitions between scenes and characters, and how they describe actions and scenery; then try to emulate it.