1. Malisky

Malisky Malkatorean Contributor

Need some opinions about a fighting stance description.

Discussion in 'Descriptive Development' started by Malisky, Aug 3, 2016.

I'm kind of new to the genre of martial arts and I've been having trouble describing some scenes.
    I have a reference picture of what I'm trying to describe but I'll post it later (if all fails) because I want to know if what I'm describing is good enough to be "seen" by the reader. This is the scene:

"He unsheathed his pair of butterfly swords that were concealed under his loose sleeves and after a well composed motion, he transitioned smoothly into a sideways fighting position. His front leg was stretched out straight and slightly placed behind the vertical line of his upright torso, while his back leg was bent, giving him a solid stance that made him look like an arched bow, ready to fire. He held the hilt of the leading sword at the level of his waist, blade parallel to his front leg, while the other one, he held in a reverse grip behind him at the level of his head, blade parallel to the ground."

Is this too complicated? Is it nicely written? Furthermore, do you think that a description like this is too much and better avoided or do you like "seeing" exactly what happens?

Seraph751 likes this.
  2. Sifunkle

Sifunkle Dis Member

I think I can picture the stance from what you've written - I know it from yoga ('double block' pose - not sure of the technical name - and obviously that's without weapons).