1. daxu

daxu New Member

Online book writing platform

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by daxu, May 4, 2015.

Hi,
    I am a software developer with some interest in writing.

Recently I have been thinking of developing an online platform for authors to write books and provide other services (e.g. get isbn number, share ideas or collaborative writing etc), something like a crowd-writing thing.

I googled this and seems there are a couple of platforms available, but is far from a full market.
    As I am not a professional author, just wondering if real authors will use this kind of platform to write? Or still prefer MS word or something else?

Many Thanks

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I wouldn't use it. i have a perfectly fine word processor, and I think crowdwriting is a load of trendy manure.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

A lot of us use Scrivener, software much like you are describing.

4. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Look at LitLift.

5. daxu

daxu New Member

I tried litLift and Scrivener, personally Scrivener is much easier to use. I am wondering if I can develop an online platform which works like Scrivener, which people want to use it? Certainly it will be free.

6. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

Since you yourself have found a couple of such platforms, then clearly it shows authors do use them. So... is there something more specific you're looking for? If you're trying to gauge how large the market could be, you may have to start looking into age demographics and such. I don't think the question should be, "Is there a market?" Of course there is - you've found those platforms already.