1. BeeBrian

BeeBrian New Member

When writing a novel... should I create characters FIRST?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by BeeBrian, Sep 19, 2011.

I would like to tell everyone that I have no experience in writing fiction novels but I am curious about the techniques and processes behind it.

When writing, should I start off by making up characters AND THEN coming up with the setting? Or is it the other way around?

Thanks in advance!

2. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

Each person will have a different answer. Some people find it more natural to write character-based stories, in which the plot stems from the characters. For me, it's the opposite - I think of a plot, then come up with characters who can make it happen. I know it sounds cliche, but just do what feels right for you.

3. Reggie

Reggie I Like 'Em hot "N Spicy Contributor

I typically write plot-driven stories and allow the plot to create the characters, and then come up with characters. To me, I find making characters first before coming up with a plot is a bit hard for me because a character has nothing to respond in a plot. In addition, when I create characters first, I tend to remove some of the characters who are not essential to the plot by the time the plot is made. Thus, I feel that I wasted my time writing a long page of character biography.

I know my characters before I create their biography, though, I do not often create biographies for characters. Mallory may be right that many people choose to write differently. They may start by writing a character biography first and then write their plotline, or start with the plotline first and then character.

4. BeeBrian

BeeBrian New Member

Umm, so is there like, some kind of process with plot-writing? I've read the stickies but it just didn't feel detailed enough for me...

5. Reggie

Reggie I Like 'Em hot "N Spicy Contributor