1. ecouter11

ecouter11 New Member

How to get past mental block, "fear of writing"

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by ecouter11, Apr 4, 2013.

Hey everyone, I dunno if this is the write place to post it but I'd greatly appreciate your advice on this topic.

I am currently a student in HS. I can write "non-personal" items. Obviously there are areas where I can improve but I don't have a problem actually putting my thoughts to paper.

However, when I am asked to write "personal" pieces, either about my experiences or how I feel after being exposed to a poignant movie/film/whatever, I immediately get this mental block and as a result, my writing comes out as stilted and robotic. It sucks because that's not who I really am -- I am emotional and sensitive, perhaps too much so. I just can't communicate those feelings in writing. Non-fiction, fiction, whatever.

I love to read; however, there is hardly anytime left for me nowadays. When I was younger, I read everything I could get my hands on. I think the written word is a very important art form.

This is rather frustrating for me and I would greatly appreciate it if any of you have suggestions on exercises or books. I think expressing myself through words would be very therapeutic for me in and it's just irritating for me on a personal level to not be able to "say" what I mean.

As I said earlier, any thoughts would be very much welcome! :)

2. idle

idle Active Member

You're saying that you cannot write well about your own feelings or opinions. Is it better if you write about someone else's? Like characters in your stories? You could practice on them. And if you manage to write thoughts of a character who has views similar to yours, you're almost there.

3. Quille

Quille Senior Member

Idle has given you a great way to work through this.