1. atsgtm2018

atsgtm2018 Member

Nervous Review

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by atsgtm2018, Oct 3, 2016.

I've been editing my first written work for almost a couple months. I think I've pieced together some good parts that I can be somewhat proud of. I'm ready to show someone like an excerpt or two. I've picked a friend (granted they have no experience in writing) to look at it. I know they'll be honest if I ask them to. I just want to know what they think of it as an audience member. I think eventually this step has come. I'm horribly nervous because my writing is so personal. How nervous were you when you had someone look at your work for the first time? I want them to take it easy but also I need the truth about how good it is. I'm debating even letting them see it. Maybe some guidance on how to get over this would help.

2. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

Getting ready for the second review is a lot harder than the first one - either the first one was rough and you don't think you can take another one, or the first one was mild and you feel like your writing is too shallow and pointless for there to be any mistakes - but the third one is easier than the first two.

What do you enjoy most about interacting with other people?

3. atsgtm2018

atsgtm2018 Member

I think the most enjoyable thing is always the conversation. Two people sharing ideas and exchanging stories is always pleasant.

4. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

Focus on that. There are cool ideas for your story that you will come up with later on your own, but there are also cool ideas for your story that you will love, but that you won't know about until you've bounced back and forth with your friend a bit.