1. MrWisp

MrWisp Member

A Question of Sexism

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by MrWisp, Feb 26, 2014.

Hi everyone. I hope this question itself doesn't come off as sexist, but honestly, as readers, are people more likely to be turned off by an abrasive female protagonist than an abrasive male?

I'm a few chapters into a novel that stars a kind of character I've never written before. After suffering through a number of traumatic experiences, my main character and narrator, Regan, attempts to take her own life. Through what could be called divine intervention, the attempt fails, and she finds through repeated attempts that the universe just won't allow her to go. This all happens via flashback before the main storyline truly unfolds, but throughout the book, she smokes like a chimney, drinks like a fish, and pulls no punches when dealing with others. There's humor in it, and she'll soften (a bit) eventually, but I wonder if a character like this is off-putting. Consider Breaking Bad and the hatred that so many viewers had for Walt's wife Skylar for being a "nag" or a "bitch." Yet these same people glorified Walter, who was a drug dealer and a murderer.

Political correctness aside, would this bother anyone? Or, another question: can anyone think of similar lead characters who have successfully broken the mold of the stereotypical "bitchy female"?

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Well, clearly the answer not passed through the filter of political correctness is most probably yes, the average Joe/Jane Schmo reader would be less apt to snuggle up to an abrasive female character than an abrasive male one. We may not like or consider to be ideal the sociological paradigms that enshroud maleness and femaleness in modern society, but we cannot just pretend it's not there. I think your question is better stated as how do I get my readers to relate to an abrasive female character so that they feel compelled to read to the end.