1. Backspin

Backspin New Member

Creating conflict, tension for romance novel

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Backspin, Nov 5, 2010.

Hi guys!

I'm a newbie and I just randomly stumbled on this forum and it seems like the paradise for real writers and of course "fake" writers like me :D I'm just joking

Anyway, this is my story.This X-mas, I want to give my gf a surprise gift and since she's far far away from me, I decided to make something special that she likes that is to write for her a romance novel. She likes romantic stuff, sweet love, nice characters etc. and preferable a happy ending. I've written 20 pages already, it's a story of a guy with his roommate goes to Paris on a summer trip and there he met this young lady at place Vendome who got robbed and he helped her to get it back basically. Sounds kinda cheesy but whatever :D

My problem is now I can't really decide how to build the conflict and make it explode at some point but still resolvable in the end to make a happy ending. I mean that is the best way to do it but if there is no other way, I would have to make it a tragedy. Any suggestions here ? Is there any place on the net where I can get some sort of ideas about this? Like : common conflicts or romance tension !?

Please help me guys!

Thank you very much.

2. Melzaar the Almighty

Melzaar the Almighty Contributor Contributor

Hey there. :)

Well, look at the possible points you have so far: the roomate could be a romantic rival, or merely jealous and sabotage stuff. Or he could create conflict in some other way, like getting mauled by an escaped tiger (lol, sorry, not actually using my creativity here, but you get the idea? :p) so the poor main character has to deal with his bleeding wounds instead of going on his second date. This can lead to confusion, misunderstandings, and it's up to you to work out how to make the girl see this as the worst possible insult or something.