1. abbigailrosewood

abbigailrosewood New Member

Life versus Fiction

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by abbigailrosewood, Jan 17, 2012.

Hi everyone,

Most of us have probably heard the advice that we should write what we know or have experience. But isn't that so limiting? I think so. But it does make me sad, to consider the possibility that I'm not living enough to make my writing move like I want it to.

Probably a lot of you can relate to this. As a writer, I'm an extreme introvert. Do you think this affects your writing? I'm starting to find out that it affects me, that withdrawal from other human beings actually hinders my ability to write well, or to create a well developed, multi-dimensional character.

How do you deal with this? Are there replacements? Ways to see the world without having to participate in every little thing? I understand that someone who is a priest will probably depict a priest character a lot better. But are there ways to convincingly bypass this experience versus pure imagination problem?

Thanks guys,

Abbi

2. LaGs

LaGs Banned

I always like to view fiction as a caricature of real life and not necessarily a reflection of it. Sure, you take experiences and observations from reality, but if fiction were limited to that then it would be a very BORING affair. I wouldn't worry too much about it though. If you say you're an extreme introvert books and films and the like are really where you're gonna gain your wealth of experience. Obviously, then, it's going to be hard for you to put your own original spin on it, but what I would say to you is just to inhabit your imagination. Go as deep as it will go, let it run wild, and see what happens. That's all you can ask for

3. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributor Contributor

4. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor