1. PokeNet

PokeNet Member

Novel How to start a novel

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by PokeNet, May 5, 2014.

So, I decided today, after reading countless entries in the short story contests, that I would enter the current contest. I collected myself, came up with a few ideas for the plot, then went to write. Then I realized something.
    I've never written a story before.
    So I'm fifteen if you're wondering why I've never written,but back onto topic, I have no idea how I should start the story. How do I go about character/plot development, etc.? This is probably a horrible post on such a high standard forum, but I hope you can help me out. Thanks :)

2. Mike Kobernus

Mike Kobernus Senior Member

There are as many ways to do this as there are people, I think.

A lot of novels start out by introducing the main character. Take this example:

"Call me Ishmael" from Moby Dick.

On the other hand, some novels start out to create a sense of normalcy, which they then immediately subvert.

"It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen" from 1984.

You probably need to make some decisions before you start writing. Will you write from the perspective of your main character? This is probably a good idea. Will you use first person, third person?

For example:

First Person: "I went to pick up the mail, stepping carefully around the kids toys and bicycles. When I got to the mailbox I got a shock."

Third Person: "He crossed the garden, avoiding the inevitable children's toys and bicycles, but when he reached the mailbox he recoiled, his face showing his shock."

You can do a gazillion things really. But some key thoughts should be: Grab your reader. Don't let go. Give him a good shake.

If you can figure out how to do that, let me know!

123456789 likes this.
  3. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor