1. huskies

huskies Member

Do you tell people you a writer?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by huskies, Sep 4, 2014.

Im a stay at home mother and in my own mind a writer, as i haven't been published though i feel like a fraud telling people that i write.

Most of my time is taken up with the children but i do find a lot of time of a night to write and i feel like this is my job as i am working towards getting published and my husband is extremely supportive.

However i don't really have the guts to say I'm a writer.

Do any of you declare it?

cutecat22 likes this.
  2. Berber

Berber Active Member

Yes. I consider writing to be a major part of my identity and I don't withhold that from anyone. A runner isn't only considered such when they cross the finish line; they are the minute they start moving their legs towards it. If you write regularly and purposefully, then you're a writer. Plain and simple.

I'm in very much the same position, but I consider myself a WAHM because I'm investing my time in something I intend to profit from in the future.

huskies likes this.
  3. daemon

daemon Contributor Contributor

A writer is someone who writes. Simple as that.

I have told a few people about my WIP. I do not think I have ever voluntarily called myself a writer -- I simply have not encountered the context to describe myself, being too busy describing things far more interesting than myself. Except on forums where we ourselves are the topic. But if someone called me a writer, then I would agree.

One big thing for me is that I did not decide to become a writer and then look for something to write about. Instead, something found me, it convinced me to write about it, and I discovered that I was becoming a writer by definition.

By contrast, I decided to become a software developer, so I am going to school to become one. Then I will look for jobs and open source projects.

Last edited: Sep 4, 2014
  4. JamesBrown

JamesBrown Active Member