1. Draensham

Draensham New Member

How would I tie several stories together?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Draensham, Apr 7, 2012.

OK, so I am new to creative writing, but I have written a large portion of a novel set during WWII. It follows the story of six different soldiers (one German, one Japanese, one Italian, one Russian, one British and one American) and how their fates are entangled. I'm writing the story in six acts, each one following the tale of a different soldier. Throughtout the novel I explain how the Axis soldiers are just men fighting for their country like the allies, and how they are just as valiant and righteous. However, I also want to write a satisfying conclusion to the book, but I am unsure of how to tie up all of the endings. Any ideas?

2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

This sounds extremely ambitious for a beginner. That doesn't mean you shouldn't try writing it, though.

I've read a great many interviews with writers, and it's kind of amazing how many of them say they have to rewrite the endings of their stories many times to get them right. When you're doing something ambitious, don't think you're going to get it perfect the first time. It takes a lot of work, a lot of thinking, a lot of creating, a lot of writing. And did I say a lot of work?

Do the work. If you're lucky, you'll find the ending you want. If you're not lucky, keep working until you are.

Good luck!

3. Draensham

Draensham New Member

Thank you, I have a few endings in mind I guess I'll try them all out. :)

4. Dan Kirkalnd

Dan Kirkalnd New Member

Maybe try writing the ending first to show how they're all intertwined and then write out the details?

5. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

It would have been better if you had planned all the storylines toward a common conclusion, or a common theme, in the first place.