1. Jayodi

Jayodi New Member

An idea to bounce off you all?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Jayodi, Aug 16, 2010.

Hey, I've been playing with an idea for about two years now, and I want to know what you guys think of it.

In something I'm writing, every time the main character loses consciousness, be it going to sleep, or being knocked out, or whatever, it will switch to a "dream world" of sorts, or an alternate reality within his mind that grows as the story progresses(If anyone has watched Clannad at any point in time, it's similar to the field with lights).

Sort of a story within a story, if you will, as each time it switches to the dream world, it continues where the last bit left off.

The passages within the dream world are brief, usually not more than 3-4 paragraphs, as they only tell a small, small bit of a larger story, just to give you a repeated glimpse.

He starts out with complete amnesia, not knowing who or where he is, but, again, as the story progresses, he learns more about himself and the world he's in, possibly tapping into an inner power he was previously unaware of, inspired by the theory that we only use a small portion of our brain.

I was considering the dream world playing a large role in the story, as it allows him to see the inner workings of his mind.

For an idea of the "mood" of the dream world, listen to Hide and Seek by Imogen Heap (The song I listen to when I write these excerpts, and the one to inspire them in the first place)

And yes, I have probably a dozen of these written already, I was just wondering if I should keep them, trash them, or save them for something else?

Thanks for the input!

2. Fedora

Fedora Active Member