Tags:
  1. mooeypoo

mooeypoo New Member

realistic science fiction

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mooeypoo, Oct 30, 2007.

Hello there.

Well, I'm new, so I guess this is my first stop in the forums - a short introduction of myself... I guess I'm an aspiring writer, though I never really considered myself that - I just love writing. I am only starting to write stories in English now that I'm in the US; my previous works were mostly hebrew.

Anyways, I'm a science-minded person, studying my way to astrophysics. I am a strong supporter of *realistic* science fiction - science has a lot of really awesome and incredible things, and if a story plays on real science (from the small to the large details) as much as possible, it makes the reading experience a lot more realistic.. so, if anyone has anything to ask about what could be realistic in sci-fi - particularly *space* (my studies), I'll be happy to help.

Other than that I just hope I won't offend you with grammar occasionally -- my english is quite good, but it's not my mother tongue. I am still practicing... be kind :p

There. That's it about me. Nice to meet you all... ;)

~moo

2. adamant

adamant Contributor Contributor

Hello and welcome to our forum. Please visit Noobie Packets! - Writing Forums to get further acquainted with the rules and features of the site.

Hard Science Fiction. That's what I've always heard it called anyway. We're here to help with any aspect of writing, so don't hesitate to ask. In addition, you may want to visit the Spelling, Punctuation, and Grammar (SPaG) section of the forum -- could be quite beneficial.

3. mooeypoo

mooeypoo New Member

Yeah, "Hard Science Fiction". I hate calling it that, though.. it sounds like it's actually HARD to do ;)

I'm an advocate against easy-to-avoid scientific mistakes in movies and stories (I'm actually part of a *group* that does that, can you imagine? ;) so that subject is quite close to my heart.