1. Ree

Ree New Member

Creative Writing book?

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Ree, Jan 24, 2010.

I'm new to creative writing and the first short story I ever wrote was for the contest here. :rolleyes: (Please keep that in mind if you read it. LOL.) My background is in engineering/product mgmt and I've dabbled in technical writing. I'm an avid reader and have a strong interest in writing fictional stories for fun.

Can anyone recommend a creative writing book that would be helpful?

Also, is there a thread here that tells member's background/profession? I'm curious if most have a writing/English/language education.

Thanks for your help! :)

2. ManhattanMss

ManhattanMss New Member

Welcome to the world of fictioneering, Ree. I think if you read a lot, as you say you do, and have dabbled in technical writing, you may discover (as I did some years back) that fiction writing is freeing, challenging, and provides an ever-unfolding learning experience. My own educational background is not focused around English & language, but around philosophy (I dunno what I was thinking except that maybe I wanted to prepare myself for "everything" rather than "anything"). I have spent many years working with writers--all kinds of writers from playwrights to historians to poets to philosophers, and I've written "frank" fiction for about a dozen years ("frank" meaning that I'm not counting the promotional stuff I wrote as an entrepreneurial businessperson).