1. Crystal Parney

Crystal Parney New Member

How to study the market....

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Crystal Parney, Nov 13, 2012.

I've been thinking about the market lately. As a writer I usually write what I am inspired to write, which I am sure many writers do. But what may inspire me or another writer may not have marketability. Through my research in the literary world I often come across the advice to study the market. I understand what that means, but I wonder exactly how to go about it. When I walk through the bookstore (or the grocery store because all of the bookstores in my town have gone out of business) I look at what is selling, but I think what is selling today may not be getting book deals tomorrow because they've already been done. I ask myself how do I come up with an idea that is fresh and new that hasn't been overdone. Any thoughts about studying the market? I am curious to how other writers study the market.

2. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor

I think writers make a mistake trying to write to the market. As you said, what's hot today may not be in the 1-2 years it takes to get your book on the shelves. Plus, trying to follow the market could mean trying to write in a genre that you don't really care for, which will show.

Write the story you want to write, in the genre you want to write in, and write it/revise it to the very best you can.

1 person likes this.
  3. JamesOliv

JamesOliv Member

Some writers study the market. Some folks study the stock market. My uncle John has a system that never fails when he plays roulette.

You can look at what sells. You can also look at market surveys. You can attempt to trend the historical sale of books by genre and sub-genre based in historical sales. Publishers trend the market just like any other business. For this, they employ marketing analysts who review survey results, sales history, and other correlated factors.

It all comes down to a guess.