1. Mr Filthy

Mr Filthy New Member

I am completlely new to writing

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mr Filthy, Jul 13, 2010.

So I am completely new to writing, the most I have ever written is a two page essay for class. I enjoy reading and I used to play video games a lot. I believe that I have a rather large imagination and I come up with a lot of different ideas for sci-fi books and video games and or movies. I would really love to write a book because I have so many ideas.

I am really bad at punctuation and grammar but I am an excelent reader. Untill recently I have never been interested in writing but now that I have been typing all of my ideas up I have begun to fall in love with it.

I have signed up here to read all of your work and hopefully make myself a better writer in the process. I'm seriously thinking of joining a writing class at my local community college.

Thats all for now I guess

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Mr. Filthy, Welcome to the Writing Forums.

Please read How to Use the Review Room before you post there. Posting your own writing for people to comment on should not be among the very first things you do here. It is worth taking the time to see what other people have done to improve their writing, and see if some of it applies to your writing as well. That is part of why we require members to review other members' work before posting their own for review. On the other hand, there are no restrictions, other than content and copyright rules, on showcasing your work in your member blog.

Also, be aware that posting a piece of writing on any public site, including this one, will greatly diminish your chances of selling it for publication. Removing the writing later does not alter that fact - once posted, it is irreversibly considered published. So do not post anything more than a small excerpt of any piece you are planning to submit for publication.