Tags:
  1. KickMe

KickMe New Member

I am so bad at this

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by KickMe, Apr 2, 2008.

I just don't have a clue. I've looked round the site and seen a lot of stuff. Trouble is, I can't review.

When somebody's writing something they're not writing it for me. Who the heck am I to say what's good? I don't actually know anything about good writing. Whether I am a good writer or not, I still wouldn't know it.

Or I could go the other ways and pick technical holes in some 13 year old's soul-opus and put them off forever. Sometimes it seems like senselessly trolling would be the only thing I'm good at. Not that I'd have a higher vantage or anything. If I'm really terrible, I can say good writers are pretentious. If I'm really good, I can say bad writers are bad writers, but it's all nonsense. Complete nonsense.

I just read John Fante's Ask the Dust. I can't work out if it's a god-awful piece of self-indulgent ignorance or a masterpiece of concept work. But really it doesn't matter. It felt awful to read and I'm annoyed. If I wanted to read bad writing, I'd look for bad writers, I wouldn't need a really excellent writer to create the illusion for me.

Anyway. Sorry for the rant but I haven't slept well in two days and I'm completely stumped. I don't have writer's block. I just throw out anything and it cures it. Writing is better than not. But this, this is too weird. What am I doing here?

Also, I always arrive two posts too late and everything's been said. :rolleyes:

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

You can always start by saying what you like most about the work, then nention a couple of things that didn't work for you. Then put some thought into why those things don't work for you. If you can suggest an alternative, great! If not, there's no shame in saying youaren't sure why it stumbles for you. Maybe someone else will come along and expand on your observations.