1. BigStackPoker

BigStackPoker New Member

How much of your plot do you know before you begin?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by BigStackPoker, Jun 21, 2016.

Part of what I find daunting is the knowledge that I have little more than an idea. I've never written anything beyond a short story and I would like to try for something more.

It would help me to know that I can do this; that others start where I am and write whole books. Is it normal to just have an idea and start writing and let the story unfold as you tell it?

Or is a person much better served by making copious notes and outlines?

I've been using a notebook and writing down every little thing that occurs to me, in the hopes that when I review it, I will see a story and intuitively, instinctively, know what to do.

How do you approach it from the beginning?

Last edited: Jun 21, 2016
  2. mashers

mashers Contributor Contributor Community Volunteer

I'm far from an expert, but I would say it's an individual thing and you should learn from your own experience. I'm similar to you in that if I try to start writing from just an idea, I run out of steam too quickly. This time I have spent time planning and it's going much better.

Plans don't have to be copious. In my case it was a case of making a flow chart of each character's story arc, with each chapter represented by an object on the chart. This has helped me to be disciplined and not get carried away in my desire to get to the most exciting parts, and it has therefore really helped me to write more than I ever have.

3. Middie

Middie New Member